“The District Attorney”

3

January 27, 2013 by jessiefrenchpiano

In one of my student method books I have this piece called “The District Attorney” and it has been driving me nuts! Where did this melody come from? The book didn’t tell me. It did give me a clue, it was by Rachmaninoff so I looked it up. Turns out that it is from Rachmaninoff’s prelude op.23 no.5.  Here are a few recordings of it. 

First, Rachmaninoff playing Rachmaninoff

Prokofiev playing Rachmaninoff Prelude op 23 no 5

Horowitz plays Rachmaninoff op.23 no.5

3 thoughts on ““The District Attorney”

  1. shellakers says:

    Hmmmm…. I don’t know if I like the 2nd or third one better? Definitely not the first and it’s the man himself, huh? Dang this sounds so hard but I love it! Pretty sure I’ll never get where you’re at but I can dream! lol

Leave a Reply

